Association of German Dance Archives

Preserve knowledge about dance - A challenge for the dance world of Germany

Dance is the most ephemeral of the performing arts and, at the same time, each new dance creation and aesthetic development builds on previous works, either through continuation or by setting up a radical artistic counter development (?)/by going against/diverging from previous traditions/challenging existing artistic concepts. This has certainly shaped the diversity of dance in Germany. However, different to musical or spoken theatre, often no text or written dramaturgic framework is preserved to impart cultural knowledge. The diversity of dance art in the past and present would be entirely lost if documents and materials of dance art were not preserved in archives and collections.

 

The German dance archives preserve a wealth of roughly one million documents about the history of dance. This includes not only manuscripts, letters and reviews, but also photos, costumes, films and videos.

German Dance Archives On Tour

Paris, 6th of June 2018
SIBMAS-conference (International Association of Libraries and Museums of Performing Arts)
To speak with one voice – the Verbund deutscher Tanzarchive – (Association of German Dance Archives) as an example of permanent and interinstitutional cooperation

Presentation by Stephan Dörschel (Academy of Arts, Berlin) and Thomas Thorausch (German Dance Archives Cologne) about cooperations of dance archives and collections of the Association of German Dance Archives

http://www.sibmas.org/conferences/invitation/programme/
 

Deutsches Tanzarchiv Köln: New exhibition
24th of March 2018 until 27th of January 2019

Gert Weigelt – Autopsy in Black/White

Sculptures resembling human bodies fill the room. Sculptures in movement – staged by the photograph Gert Weigelt. His works in black/white, which are the result of his cooperation with dancers in a studio, go far beyond the understanding of conventional dance photography. They are the expression of the aesthetic demand to see and show physicality and dance with the camera from an analytical perspective, often with an ironical wink in his eye.

The exhibition, “Gert Weigelt. Autopsy in black/white” is dedicated to his studio work – staged bodies- and portrait studies – which fascinate with their strength in form and aesthetic, as well as erotic flair. In addition to his photography, Weigelt’s film art will also be displayed – image choreographies set in motion -, which Gert Weigelt created for the broadcaster, Zweite Deutsche Fernsehen and the Dutch broadcaster NOS in the 1990’s.

Further information is on the website of the German Dance Archive Cologne.

Bridges into the future.

The results, conclusions and ideas of a questionnaire from the Dance Education Conference (AK|T) and the Association of German Dance Archives (VDT) on the situation of archives, libraries and collections at dance training centres in Germany from the year 2016/17.

The results of a survey conducted by the dance education conference (AK|T) and the Association of German Dance Archives (VDT) were presented and discussed in connection with the 6th Bienniale Tanzausbildung in Berlin. You can read the results of the survey here.

Projects of the VDT

Association of German Dance Archives

Search through the archive inventory

The databases of the VdT archives are fully searchable in the search portal of the information service for the performing arts. VdT members has piloted open access to the metadata of the FID-Portal in order to enable the joint presentation of collections.

Enable access!

Representatives of the German, Austrian and Swiss dance archives came together for the first time on the 21st and 22nd of October 2016 in order to collectively discuss the challenges which archives face in today’s digitalized world.

Digital Atlas Dance

The Digital Atlas Dance serves as a showcase for documents about dance and through such documents accessible online as films, photographs, publications and sketches, gives information about personalities, works and the history of dance in Germany.

Transforming Acts

The project “Transforming Acts” is an intermedial installation which sheds light on the inspiration and transformative processes of dance in art in general and in theatre specifically.

European Video Dance Heritage

The EU project European Video Dance Heritage is tackling the issue of the preservation of the cultural heritage of dance on a European level, with a view specifically technological, legal and aesthetic challenges facing dance video.

Protection and accessability of collections

A primary goal is currently the conservation as well as centralised (use of archives on-site) and decentralised (online) accessibility of collections in the dance archives of Germany.

Projecting our past to the future

The EU scientific project ITN-DCH aims at furthering research and development in the area “Digital Cultural Heritage” on a European level.

Symposium ICH+I

The symposium presented the newest research on recording and visualisation techniques and its application in immaterial cultural heritage, providing a platform for expert discussions.

Inventory Analysis

The inventory analysis of databases of the Association of German Dance Archives was completed in 2013 and builds an indispensable foundation for the quantitative and qualitative valuation of the overall inventory of the archives.

Members of the VDT

In 2007, the five leading institutions formally came together to form the Association of German Dance Archives (VDT) for the preservation and development of sources and documents relating to the history of the development and performance of  dance art in Germany. The five institutions are:

German Dance Archives Cologne

Dance Archive Leipzig

Mime Centrum Berlin

Performing Arts Archives of the Academy of Arts

German Dance Film Institute Bremen

Das Wissen um den Tanz bewahren

Eine Herausforderung für das Tanzland Deutschland

Tanz ist die vergänglichste unter den performativen Künsten, doch zugleich baut jede neue Tanzschöpfung und ästhetische Entwicklung auf früheren Arbeiten auf, führt diese weiter oder entwirft radikale künstlerische Gegenpositionen. Die Vielfalt des Tanzes in Deutschland ist nicht zuletzt dadurch geprägt. Doch anders als im Sprech- oder im Musiktheater bleibt oft kein Text, keine verschriftlichte dramaturgische Struktur als kulturelles Wissen erhalten. Die Vielfalt des tänzerischen Schaffens in Geschichte und Gegenwart wäre verloren, würden nicht Dokumente und Materialien der Tanzkunst in Archiven und Sammlungen bewahrt.

Die deutschen Tanzarchive bewahren einen großen Schatz von rund einer Million Dokumente zur Tanzgeschichte auf. Dazu zählen nicht nur Manuskripte, Briefe und Kritiken, sondern auch Fotos, Kostüme, Filme oder Videos.

Neue Ausstellung im Deutschen Tanzarchiv Köln
24. März 2018 bis 27. Januar 2019

Gert Weigelt - Autopsie in Schwarz/Weiss

Menschliche Skulpturen füllen den Raum. Skulpturen in Bewegung – inszeniert von dem Fotografen Gert Weigelt. Seine Arbeiten in Schwarz/Weiß, entstanden aus der Zusammenarbeit mit Tänzern im Studio, gehen weit über das Selbstverständnis konventioneller Tanzfotografie hinaus. Sie sind Ausdruck eines ästhetischen Anspruchs, der sich anschickt, Körperlichkeit und Tanz mit der Kamera aus analytischer Perspektive zu sehen und zu zeigen. Häufig mit einem ironisierenden Augenzwinkern.
Die Ausstellung „Gert Weigelt. Autopsie in Schwarz/Weiß“ widmet sich seinen Studioarbeiten – inszenierte Körper- und Portraitstudien – die durch ihre betonte Formenstrenge und Ästhetik sowie ihr erotisches Flair faszinieren. Die Fotografieschau wird ergänzt durch die Präsentation seiner Kunstfilme – in Bewegung gesetzte Bildchoreographien –, die Gert Weigelt in den 1990er Jahren für das Zweite Deutsche Fernsehen und den niederländischen Fernsehsender NOS kreiert hat.

Weitere Informationen auf der Website des Deutschen Tanzarchivs Köln.
 

Brücken in die Zukunft.

Ergebnisse, Schlussfolgerungen und Anregungen einer Umfrage der Ausbildungskonferenz Tanz (AK|T) und des Verbunds Deutscher Tanzarchive (VDT) zur Situation der Archive, Bibliotheken und Sammlungen an den Ausbildungsstätten für Tanz in Deutschland aus den Jahren 2016/17

Im Rahmen der 6. Biennale Tanzausbildung in Berlin wurden am 1. März 2018 Ergebnisse einer Bestandserhebung der Ausbildungskonferenz Tanz (AK|T) und des Verbunds der Tanzarchive (VDT) vorgestellt und anschließend diskutiert. Hier können Sie die wesentlichen Ergebnisse der Umfrage nachlesen.

Projekte des VDT

Suche in den Beständen der Archive

Im Suchportal des Fachinformationsdienst Darstellende Kunst sind die Datenbanken der Archive des VdT durchsuchbar. Für eine gemeinsame Darstellung von Teilbeständen haben die Mitglieder des VdT exemplarisch Metadaten für das FID-Portal zur Verfügung gestellt.

Zugänge schaffen!

Zum ersten Mal trafen sich am 21. und 22. Oktober 2016 Vertreter*innen von deutschen, österreichischen und schweizerischen Tanzarchiven, um gemeinsam über die Herausforderungen zu diskutieren, denen sich die Archive in der heutigen digitalen Welt ausgesetzt sehen. 

Digitaler Atlas Tanz

Der Digitale Atlas Tanz dient als Schaufenster für Tanzdokumente und informiert anhand von online einsehbaren Dokumenten – darunter Filmaufzeichnungen, Fotografien, Druckschriften, Skizzen, – über Persönlichkeiten, Werke und Geschichte des Tanzes in Deutschland.

Transforming Acts

Das Projekt "Transforming Acts" beleuchtet als intermediale Installation die Inspirations- und Transformationsvorgänge von Tanz in die Kunst im Allgemeinen und in die Theaterkunst im Besonderen.

European Video Dance Heritage

Das EU-Projekt European Video Dance Heritage beschäftigt sich mit der Bewahrung des Kulturellen Erbes Tanz auf europäischer Ebene mit Blick auf die besonderen - technologischen, rechtlichen und ästhetischen - Herausforderungen des Videotanzes.

Sicherung und Zugänglichmachung der Bestände

Die konservatorische Sicherung sowie die zentrale (Nutzung von Archivgut in den Archiven) und dezentrale (online) Zugänglichkeit der Bestände in den Tanzarchiven Deutschlands sind derzeitig ein primäres Ziel.

Projecting our past to the future

Das EU-Wissenschaftsprojekt ITN-DCH hat die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsförderung im Bereich "Digitales Kulturelles Erbe" auf europäischer Ebene zum Ziel.

Symposium ICH+I

Das Symposium stellte den aktuellen Stand der Forschung zu Aufzeichnungs- und Visualisierungstechniken und deren Anwen­dung im Bereich des immateriellen Kultur­­erbes dar und bot eine Plattform für fachgerechte Diskussionen.

Bestandsanalyse

Die Bestandsanalyse der Datenbanken des Verbunds Deutscher Tanzarchive wurde 2013 abgeschlossen und ist unverzichtbare Grundlage für die quantitative und qualitative Bewertung des Gesamtbestandes der Archive.

Mitglieder des VdT

Zum Verbund Deutscher Tanzarchive (VDT) haben sich 2007 die fünf führenden Institutionen zur Bestander­haltung und Erschließung von Quellen und Dokumenten zur Entwicklungs- und Aufführungsgeschichte der Kunstform Tanz in Deutschland nominell zusammengeschlossen. Diese fünf Institutionen sind:

Deutsches Tanzarchiv Köln

Tanzarchiv Leipzig

Mime Centrum Berlin

Archiv Darstellende Künste der Akademie der Künste

Deutsches Tanzfilminstitut Bremen